

Minutes

What: Swimming Counties Manukau Association (SCM) – Special General Meeting

Where: Franklin Recreation Centre, Pukekohe

When: Saturday, 21 September 2019 @ 3pm

Who attended: Alastair Bates (SCM Board, HPK delegate)

Anthony Chaney (SCM Board - FAST) Emiel Logan (SCM Board - MAN) Ligi Asiata (SCM Board - HPK) Dave Beattie (SCM Board - PSC)

Geoff Sibun (SCM Life Member)
Debra Hawley (FAST) – Delegate
Vanessa Burns (PSC) – Delegate
Jude Shuker (PPK) – Delegate
Keith Melvin (MAN) – Delegate
Lara Phillips (MAN) – Delegate
Marta van der Veen (PSC)

Julie Watts (PSC) Ria Langit (FAST)

Clubs represented: Manurewa Swimming Club (MAN)

Fulton Amateur Swim Team (FAST) Pukekohe Swimming Club (PSC)

Howick Pakuranga Swimming Club (HPK)

Papakura Swimming Club (PPK)

Quorum of Member Clubs represented achieved.

Apologies: Debra Mahony (SCM Board)

Jeannie Sibun (SCM Life Member)

Order of Business		By whom
Minute taker: Anthony Chaney		
1.	Elect Board Member to Chair of the Special General Meeting as per the SCM Constitution 2014, clause 10.6.	
	Alastair Bates nominated to act as Chair of the Special General Meeting.	Moved by Geoff Sibun, Seconder Debra Hawley.
2.	Constitution	
	SCM Board seeks that the proposed 2020 Constitution be passed as adopted. All concerns raised at the SCM Annual General Meeting have been resolved. The Constitution shall be lodged with the Incorporated Societies Office in July 2020. There is a need for the SCM Member Club registration forms to be aligned with the proposed 2020 Constitution prior to lodging hence the later date.	

Orde	r of Business	By whom
	The proposed constitution shall be recognised as the 2020 SCM Constitution.	
	The Chair read the following communication with Steve Johns (Swimming NZ CEO) 'that Swimming Counties Manukau can, with Swimming New Zealand's consent, continue to operate its rules in accordance with the SCM Constitution 2014 whilst continuing to be a Regional Member of Swimming New Zealand until the New Regional Constitution is registered with the New Zealand Companies Office in the new swimming member registration year, due July 2020 (to be registered at the earliest possible opportunity in July 2020). Therefore, allowing the time for SCM to work with our Member Clubs to have a conforming registration form that allows all club members to understand that they are registering and becoming members of the Club, Region and National Body.'	
	No motion put forward to ratify proposed 2020 Constitution, with this Constitution to be put forward for ratification at 2020 SCM Annual General Meeting with all amendments to be resolved beforehand.	Moved by Geoff Sibun, Seconder Keith Melvin. All in favour.
3.	FY 2019 Finalised Annual Accounts	
	SCM Board seeks that the revised 2019 accounts be as provided be 'passed' as correct.	Moved by Alastair Bates, Seconder Vanessa Burns.
4.	SCM Sub-committees - Positions	
	 Technical Publicity and Communication The following members for the identified sub-committees have been received, but shall only be confirmed after vetting process undertaken by SCM Board. 	
	 Awards Jeannie Sibun (SCM Life Member) Rita Chan See (HPK) Nehu Loza (SCM) Events Jo Clare (PSC) Cindy Hickmott (PSC) Geoff Sibun (SCMA Life Member) Technical Sandra Sutcliffe (PSC) Keith Melvin (MAN) 	
	 Publicity and Communication Julie Watts (PSC) Further approaches shall be made for Club Members to participate as part of the sub-committees. The Chair advised that the SCM Board shall be available to attend Member Club meetings to discuss the sub-committees and nominations. 	

Meeting closed: 3.30pm.